BEGIN TYPING YOUR SEARCH ABOVE AND PRESS RETURN TO SEARCH. PRESS ESC TO CANCEL

Links and Information about WordPress

WordPress Log 6kLinks and Information About WordPress

January 2015 Edition

Here is a list of plugins, sites, ideas, and links to material about WordPress,
resources to help with Blogging in general, and help with Social Media.

 

You can download WordPress from WordPress.org (not to be confused with WordPress.com)

Download WordPress: https://wordpress.org/download/

Download Themes: https://wordpress.org/themes/

Download Plugins: https://wordpress.org/plugins/

 

Free Images:

https://images.google.com

https://www.flickr.com/

http://www.hubspot.com/free-marketing-resources

 

Not Free Images:

https://www.canva.com/

http://www.gettyimages.com/

 

Free Image Editing Tools:

Ifranview: http://www.irfanview.com/main_download_engl.htm

Paint.net: http://www.getpaint.net/download.html

Gimp for Windows: http://www.gimp.org/downloads/

 

Plugins to Optimize Your WordPress Site:

Shrink Images

WP Smushit: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-smushit/

EWWW Image Optimizer: https://wordpress.org/plugins/ewww-image-optimizer/

 

Cache or Minify JavaScript and CSS:

AutoOptimize: https://wordpress.org/plugins/autoptimize/

 

Site Caching:

WP Super Cache: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-super-cache/

 

Sitemaps:

Google Sitemap by BestWebSoft: https://wordpress.org/plugins/google-sitemap-plugin/

Google XML Sitemaps https://wordpress.org/plugins/google-sitemap-generator/

 

Page Speed Testing Sites:

Google Page Speed: https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/

Pingdom Web Test: http://tools.pingdom.com/fpt/

WebpageTest.org http://www.webpagetest.org/

 

 

Webmaster Tools

Google Webmaster Tools https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/home?hl=en

Bing Webmaster Tools http://www.bing.com/toolbox/webmaster

Yandex: https://webmaster.yandex.com/addurl.xml

Security Plugins and Sites for WordPress:

WordFence: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wordfence/ (My favorite, also I use their caching tool instead of WP Super Cache)

iThemes Security: https://wordpress.org/plugins/better-wp-security/

Sucuri: http://sucuri.net/

 

Scheduling and Planning Posts

WP Scheduled Posts: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-scheduled-posts/

Hubspot Excel Spreadsheet: http://offers.hubspot.com/blog-editorial-calendar (requires creating account)

 

Suggested Books:

The Art of Social Media: Power Tips for Power Users by Guy Kawasaki and Peg Fitzsimmons
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00O4RHN8M?pldnSite=1

 

WordPress: From Setup to Website by Roy Richardson

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DP61H3A

 

Social Sharing Plugins:

WP to Twitter: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-to-twitter/

Jetpack for WordPress (comes with WordPress but must be activated) Free mostly

WP Social Share: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-social-share/

Cresta Social Share: https://wordpress.org/plugins/cresta-social-share-counter/

Social Warfare: http://warfareplugins.com/ (Costs money)

Christian | Father | Tech Evangelist | Author | Public Speaker | Future TEDx speaker |WordPress Aficionado *I am the author of "WordPress: Setup to Website". I love all things tech and gadgets and I probably have an opinion about it which some people seek out.Follow @aroyrichardson